Violence in our society is increasing day by day nowadays and it is argued by some that media is the main promoter of violence. To a large extent I agree with this view, the reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay.

On the one hand, it is a fact that nowadays the media such as news and movies are packed full with negative information such as crimes and rapes. This will have a negative impact on the public because when they watch all these programs they will have a tendency to try out these negative things in their life. For example, a kid in America inspired by the 9/11 attack stole a truck a drove it straight into a supermarket only to kill himself.

However, on the other hand, we cannot fully blame the media for the violence occuring in the society, family also plays an important role in people's behaviour. It is from family where most individuals learn how to behave and live in a society. So If family fails in providing good guidance to individuals then there is chance that people will choose the path of violence. For instance, a study conducted by the Oxford University press in 2018 found out most of the people who become criminals had a bad family background. So we cannot fully blame media for the violence in our society.

In conclusion, although media are promoters of violence in our society, I believe family also play an important role in is person's behaviour.