Media has invaded every aspect of life in modern world. With the advent of new technology, people have grown addicted to TV and radio. Many people accuse it of encouraging aggressive behavior in the society. While there are other factors responsible for violence prevailing in current times, media is certainly guilty of promoting it.

It could be argued that news channels, movies and other media outlets only manifest what already exists in society. Since they are responsible for informing public about current happenings, they are forced to show criminal activities. For example, many news channels feature crimes and ongoing investigation as part of their job. Therefore, it might be unfair to blame media sources for spreading violence when they are only trying to do their job by delivering truth to public.

However, this reality cannot be ignored that media has a massive effect on public behavior. It is due to the fact that masses are heavily influenced by what they see or listen to. For example, children watching their favorite movie characters using guns attempt to follow them without thinking about consequences. Watching various action movies also give people new and creative ideas to perpetuate aggression. These days many movies are based on true stories where real life situations are screened. Such stunts are not difficult to follow and offenders often take help from such mediums to make their plans successful. Moreover, excessive screening of objectionable behavior normalizes it for masses. As a result they become desensitized and do not consider violence a problem. Needless to say such societies are devoid of morality and acts of violence become a daily news.

To conclude, although media often depicts the happenings around the world, it also helps people learning different ways of aggression and desensitize them to violence. Therefore, it would be absolutely correct to state that media is major reason of growing violence in society.