Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this?

What can be done to tackle this problem?

Exercise is an integral part of health and fitness but unfortunately, many people do not indulge in it anymore as they see walking as a necessity not for fun. However, trekking is recognized as being beneficial to health but presently very few people do this form of exercise. This essay will discuss the causes of this and proffer possible solutions to this issue.

There are many reasons why fewer people walk these days thereby causing a lot of people to become slaves to their cars. Firstly, many people live far away from their work place and can not trek because of the distance. They prefer using their cars or public transport to work. Secondly, the sprawling suburbs have instilled fear of being wounded or robbed of their valuables in people's lives and therefore made walking impractical thereby increasing their dependency to their cars.

In proffering solutions and encouraging the populace to walk more, the government and other non-governmental agencies needs to create awareness through radio giggles, public shows,talks and advocacies to inform the people about the incredible benefits of walking. Also, our cities need to be reshaped to create a more conducive and walkable neighborhood where people can be safe and secure at all times of the day. Furthermore, there should be good road network and better public transport where commuters can at least walk to the nearest station and join a bus to work comfortably and easily.

In conclusion, while there are so many reasons why people walk these days, l believe if the government and other non-governmental bodies should undertake the aforementioned steps, people will be encouraged to walk more in order to live more healthier and happily.