We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be
concerned with our own communities and countries.
To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?
Some people believe that we should not help people in other countries as long as there
are problems in our own society. I disagree with this view because I believe that we
should try to help as many people as possible.
On the one hand, I accept that it is important to help our neighbours and fellow
citizens. In most communities there are people who are impoverished or disadvantaged
in some way. It is possible to find homeless people, for example, in even the wealthiest
of cities, and for those who are concerned about this problem, there are usually
opportunities to volunteer time or give money to support these people. In the UK,
people can help in a variety of ways, from donating clothing to serving free food in a
soup kitchen. As the problems are on our doorstep, and there are obvious ways to help,
I can understand why some people feel that we should prioritise local charity.
At the same time, I believe that we have an obligation to help those who live beyond
our national borders. In some countries the problems that people face are much more
serious than those in our own communities, and it is often even easier to help. For
example, when children are dying from curable diseases in African countries,
governments and individuals in richer countries can save lives simply by paying for
vaccines that already exist. A small donation to an international charity might have a
much greater impact than helping in our local area.
In conclusion, it is true that we cannot help everyone, but in my opinion national
boundaries should not stop us from helping those who are in need.