It is argued that active pursuits are more effective in terms of the development of children’s life skills than passive ones like reading do. From my perspective, I disagree with this statement because both types of pastimes are of equally paramount significance.

Proponents of this contention assume that social skills can be improved dramatically if a child takes part in an outdoor activity. By sharing the same interest and playing together with their peers, the child might find a surge in confidence and stimulation in terms of social ability like getting new friends. Thus, there is a strong likelihood that their relationship will be cemented. For instance, a student can engage in a basketball game at school if he gets interested in this sport, allowing him to have novel friends. This can be considered one of the important life skills that children should have.

However, reading skills can enhance a child’s concentration during a long period which is extremely crucial in personal and career success. This happens because a great number of students can be easily distracted by entertainment activities, thus having trouble focusing on doing homework effectively. Passive pastimes like reading enable a child not to be effortlessly impacted by distraction and use their spare time more effectively. Recent research has shown that most famous inventors had spent hours per day doing passive pursuits especially reading in their leisure time, gaining a wide range of knowledge and passion. As a result, they devised inventions and became successful and appreciated.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that both passive and active pursuits play an important role in a person’s success, and they are crucial at an equivalent level.