Insufficient housing in major cities has been one of the pressing issues that can lead to negative effects on society. Some people assume that this issue can be solely handled by governments. From my perspective, I agree with the statement to some extent.

To begin with, there are several reasons resulting in the lack of accommodation in cities. The first one is the ever-increasing population. As people in rural areas tend to move to larger cities for prosperity, the current infrastructure of those cities fails to catch up with the demographic expansion, causing the shortage of houses. Another reason that should be taken into consideration is the poor management of authorities. It is not uncommon in third countries that their governments have primarily allocated their budgets to short-term programmes rather than long-term ones, which would contribute to the lack of money needed for public construction.

As a result, only governments can deal with the abovementioned culprits to solve the problem of housing shortage. The primary method is that a massive investment must be utilized to build a system of public infrastructure, allowing citizens better access to essential facilities. Therefore, it is unnecessary for them to stay in major cities. The Japanese authorities have imposed multiple financial schemes, establishing public constructions like the Metro, in Tokyo. For that reason, people living in the vicinity can effortlessly commute to their workplaces that are located in the heart of Tokyo thanks to the high-speed railway system.

In conclusion, I believe that governments play an irreplaceable role in dealing with the lack of houses in major cities. A heavy investment should be enacted to build and improve infrastructure, limiting people to live in big cities.