International sports events, like World Cup or Olimpic, are considered 4-year period events where hosting countries welcome millions of spectators and thousands of professional players across the globe. Some people assume that it is a good thing for the country, while others argue it is bad. This essay will outline both statements and give my personal opinion.

To begin with, multiple high-income nations are working hard to pose its influences to take the chance to become hosting global sports events country due to several beneficial effects. The country has a wonderful time to introduce its beautiful, and spectacular belongings to foreigners as a way of advertisements when almost all people throughout the planet are watching any latest news revolving around his or her national teams. For example, Russia had successfully hosted the World Cup 2018, where witnessed numerous unexpected scenes during the tournament, and thus the country offered a deeper image amongst citizens toward the actual Russian’s attitude and hospitality, and a series of well-known buildings and sight-seeing nature. With professional preparation in each match, Russia became one of the greatest World Cup tournaments in history.

At the same time, there are a couple of dark sides hidden behind the glowing-look global sports events. Firstly, a hosting nation must take a part of its national budget for restoring the degraded stadiums or building the new ones that allow serving a hundred thousand spectators. It is extremely costly especially in financially disadvantaged nations like Brazil, where are facing an alarming number of crimes due to the problem of poverty. Secondly, bad images could be transmitted across the world if the hosting country is struggling with numerous social unrest arising from poverty. Brazil, for example, hosted the World Cup 2014, and once encounter critical disapproval from locals. As a result, many unwanted scenes including larceny and slums in Brazil stormed all social networking sites, and subsequently, global foreigners did not prefer to visit the country.

In conclusion, although international sports events provide a hosting nation with a good chance to advertise its images, bad images are also included.