Living under the same roof with parents after securing a stable job and finishing college has been on the rise in several nations. While some people support this, I believe this trend offers more demerits than merits.

On the one hand, residing with caregivers provides young adults with some benefits. The first one is to mitigate financial issues. Having decent accommodation, especially in major cities, to live independently seems unrealistic to those graduates who just have entered the workforce, so staying in the same house with their parents can enable them to save a great amount of money for an independent life in the future. Moreover, frequently sharing difficult stories with family members can help younger adults reduce high levels of work-related stress, providing them with an enjoyable working life. This positive aspect is hardly achievable if they live independently.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits mentioned above pale in comparison with the drawbacks this trend induces. Firstly, young adults might be familiar with a dependent life in which their parents take care of them. As a result, their motivation to have private accommodation can be minimized dramatically even if they can afford their own lives. Secondly, young people might be put under the stringent observation of their caregivers and be stripped of privacy. This means that they will have trouble inviting their loved ones to their house without the landlord’s permission. After a long time, younger people will be less proactive in decision-making which is crucial in personal and career success.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that despite the aforementioned advantages, living under the same property with parents is more disadvantageous overall considering its risks to young adults.