As well as making money, businesses also have a responsibility towards society. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Regarding the issue of businesses’ liability, there has been considerable controversy whether they should pay tribute to the community where they thrive. Whilst I agree that gaining profits is the top priority, I would incline that being responsible to the society is no less vital.

On the one hand, it is plausible that the conglomerates should only emphasize on making money. Evidently, due to the fierceness of the rat race, it is challenging for companies to survive since without appropriate capital management, they can not cover the expenditures on their running costs, employees’ salaries and facilities’ payments. That is to say, should companies do not have competence in paying the necessary bills and meeting the changing demands of customers, the concerns for social responsibilities are obviously redundant. Moreover, the huge amount of taxes paid by the businesses has been a pragmatic method to show responsibility towards the society.

On the other hand, by assisting in social predicaments, the enterprises do not only benefit the community but also themselves. It is beyond doubt that by making a positive contribution to society, businesses can bolster their images and build their brands. In fact, should companies be well aware and collaborate with governments to address current alarming issues, more customers will pay attention to their brands and be more willing to purchase goods. In other words, the conglomerates that sponsor environmental projects or educational initiatives, can become more renowned and maintain a professional reputation. For instance, some beverage brands such as Starbucks has showed considerable concerns towards the amount of plastic packaging disposed into the environment and decided to utilize green and recyclable products; as a consequence, they do not only reduce the utilities’ costs but also remain the leading brand with the increasing consumers who support the go-green activities.

In conclusion, albeit gaining profits is the conglomerates’ first priority, taking responsibility to the community also has a crucial role to play.