As well as making money, businesses also have a responsibility towards society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increasingly popularised opinion that businesses should make social contributions within their reasonable purview. I completely endorse this statement for the following reasons.

Initially, charitable donations can help bolster the firm’s public image and build its brand. If a business is willingly cooperating with the local governments to handle existing environmental issues like water pollution, and constant congestion, it is likely to receive legal support from the authorities. For example, a company that manufactures wood furniture can obtain government approval to cut down trees faster. It can increase customer satisfaction by completing the work ahead of schedule, resulting in customer loyalty. Additionally, as environmental issues have become more serious, customers will alter their buying habits. The business can take advantage of this opportunity to introduce environmentally-friendly products to draw the shopper’s attention and retain them, which is essential for a financial institution’s long-term success.

Secondly, volunteering is a good chance to enhance the quality of the workforce. By volunteering, employees can gain a better understanding of each other's strengths and weaknesses, and the bond among them becomes stronger than ever, resulting in better collaboration on company projects. Besides, several voluntary works requiring specific abilities can improve the workers’ skill set. Classifying different sorts of books in the library can illustrate this precisely. The staff might be given a task to computerize the title of the books, leading to a more professional typing skill. Moreover, there are numerous workers who take time off work as they experience exhaustion and stress due to heavy workloads. The business should hold staff volunteer programs to make time for their workers to rest, and contribute to societal development simultaneously.

In conclusion, I believe that the business corporation's responsibility also includes social contributions for cultivating positive brand recognition and enhancing the staff’s productivity. It is recommended that the government apply several measures to get business corporations to alleviate social issues.