As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Enterprises are facing the dilemma of besides earning money, they should also take public responsibilities into consideration. Recently, this phenomenon has been brought to public attention with people standing on two different sides. Personally, I completely agree with the view that businesses should do more for society than simply make money.

On the other hand, not only maximizing earning is the top priority of cooperation, but also a major benefit to society as a whole. The more money they earn, the more tax they have to pay. As a result, the authorities can put more revenue into the community in order to improve the qualities of the public, including the environment and health. Secondly, if the firms earn huge profits, they will have more chances to expand their business. In other words, many companies will be put into operation to gain a competitive edge in the market, which will create more job opportunities for the jobless.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why businesses should also accept that they have social responsibilities. The first reason is that their activities have an effect on the environment. With the high ozone layer depletion, this may be explained by the fact that the discharge chemical waste the cooperation put into the air which leads to the problem. If company bosses cut down on emissions they release, pollution will be controlled. Another reason is that the companies should pay their commercials to those who are less fortunate. For instance, the Vinamilk and Universe each year have their own scholarship and giving charitable donations which are not only philanthropic actions but also will gain their public image.

In conclusion, I believe that companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.