As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Businesses always try to make a profit, but it is becoming increasingly common to hear people talk about the social obligation that companies have. I completely agree with the idea that businesses should do more for society than simply make money.

On the one hand, it is obviously true that a healthy economy is an essential goal of any company. Strong finance ensures companies could cover their running costs such as employees’ salaries and payments for buildings. On top of these costs, companies also need a budget to invest in improvements and changes if they need to meet a new trend in customers’ demands. If the company lacks the money to deal with a sudden change in consumer market trends, it might lose its market share to opponents. It results in a fall in companies’ efforts to remain their success.

On the other hand, I side with those who concur that companies should have a wider role to play in society rather than focusing on maximizing profits. One social obligation that owners and managers have is to treat their employees well instead of exploiting them as much as possible. For example, they could have an extra money support policy for their workers such as travelling fee aid or living cost. In this way, employees might have a better quality of life and therefore this directly enhances the living standard of society. Supporting from companies at the same time strengthen the employees’ dedication and this is important to ensure the sustainable survival of any company.

In conclusion, there are many valued reasons to understand why companies give enormous effort to making profits but I believe that they should not forget their responsibilities to social contributions.