It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view

People have different views about the simultaneous survival of traditional cultures and technological development. In my opinion, I argue that technology and cultures are compatibly thriving in some parts of the world.

It is true that the advances in technology lead to the disappearance of traditions in developed countries. For example, in Britain, in the pre-industrial period generations usually lived in the same families and village communities. They had outdoor activities, share common religious, beliefs and enjoy rituals and ceremonies together. While in this contemporary world, young generations tend to move to modern cities because of their ambition in making progress in their career path. They do not pay attention to longstanding traditions or cultural heritages. Most inhabitants in British villages are commuters, many of them do not know too much about their neighbours.

Apart from the valued arguments mentioned above, I concur that technologies do not detrimentally affect traditions somewhere. For instance, in some localities in Vietnam, the advances of technology are playing a huge role in traditional agricultural civilisation. Vietnamese farmers used to rely on their risky intuitions and the knowledge about weather, which is passed on by parents and elders. Today, thanks to mobile apps they could have precise weather predictions and market prices. The agricultural harvest, therefore, is significantly effective. This is strong evidence that traditional cultures still accompany the increasing development of technology.

In conclusion, there are convincing reasons to understand why some assert that technological development harms the existence of traditional culture. However, I believe they could survive together due to their reciprocal supports.