Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a common belief that domestic movies and TV shows are enough for a country. However, I firmly believe foreign TV programmes have a valuable impact on a country’s development.

On the one hand, there are those who argue that movies and programmes should be produced domestically. The main reason is that local programmes contribute to keeping the nation’s culture intact. These programmes usually impart traditional celebrations, religious rituals, and religious beliefs. This not only helps residents gain intense knowledge of their country but also influences their moral behaviour. East Asia countries, for example, are popular with Buddhism, the people are likely to believe in karma. Their movies tend to strengthen their strong conviction that they might deserve luck and peacefulness in the future if they did good deeds.

On the other hand, I side with those who concur that foreign movies and TV shows should be imported. The salient argument is that they help improve people’s intellectual level. Through outside movies and programmes, people can learn different cultures and other languages. For instance, in Vietnam, many English TV shows and films are used as enormous resources for learning English. This might be an interesting educational approach for learners than boring books. As a result, the people generally raise their English ability than before. This opens a window of opportunities for students to pursue learning abroad or for local companies to collab with foreign organizations.

In conclusion that importing foreign films and TV shows should be encouraged to gain their benefits.