It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view.

People have different views about the simultaneous survival of technology developments and traditional cultures. In my opinion, I argue that technology and traditions are compatibly thriving together in some parts of the world.

It is true that the advances in technology lead to the disappearance of some traditional customs. For example, in Britain, in the pre-industrial period generations used to live in the same families and village communities. They enjoyed outdoor activities, common religious and ceremonies together. In this contemporary world, young generations tend to move to modern cities because of their desired ambition in making progress in their career path. It is easier for them to secure a job and have opportunities to pursue their passion in such cities. Most British villages today are inhabited by commuters, many of them even do not pay attention to the history of these are and their neighbours.

Apart from the value argument mentioned above, I concur that technological development does not affect traditions somewhere. For instance, in Vietnam, novel technologies play a huge role in traditional agricultural cultures. Former farmers used to apply their risky intuitions and experiences, which is passed on by parents and elders, to forecast weather and harvest. Today, thanks to the advent of mobile apps, farmers could have precise awareness about weather predictions and market price estimations. Their income and harvest are therefore significantly improved. This is strong evidence that the increasing development of technology still accompanies traditional cultures.

In conclusion, there are convincing reasons to understand why some assert technology harms the existence of traditions. However, I believe they could survive together due to their reciprocal supports.