It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some people believe that the technological developments will cancel the traditional cultures. In my opinion, I suppose traditional cultures are only affected a small part of some societies, others seem to be uninfluenced by technology.

On the one hand, the advances in technology have threatened the local cutures. Due to technology boom, people have many chances to approach the new different cultures from many parts of the country. The fast and strong cultural exchanges made people acquire the new ways of life quickly but lacking of the selection that led to the disappearance of the local cultures. For example, the citizens of ethnic minorities today are becoming hesitant to wear traditional costumes, sing and dance their own traditional music in their traditional festivals. Furthermore, the advances in technology that have driven urbanization have certainly contributed to the disappearance of the traditional houses such as Stift houses, or Nha Rong of Zarai and Bahnar people in the central highland and replaced by the concrete houses.

On the other hand, There is no denying that technology makes contribution to the maintenance and advancement of traditional cultures. Thanks to the development of digital devices, people can record all the traditional festivals which showed on the mass media to the people from all over the country who can approach them. Hence, the ancient way of lifes will live long in the memory of each citizen. For example, Vietnamese people who live abroad can’t enjoy directly Tet holiday every year, but they can feel the Tet atmosphere via live TV channel about the festival. Besides, people today can find out a lot of informations about all traditional cutures which they want to know are written in great detail on the internet.

In conclusion, many traditional ways of life have been lost as a result of the technological development, however others have maintained and developed.