Some think the current generation should take steps to protect the environment for the next generation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many environmentalists suppose that the people today should bear responsibility to remain the green environment for the next generations. In my opinion, although this is unfair on the current generation, it is nonetheless a burden should be taken up. On the one hand, that’s not fair as people to day have to suffer severe consequences caused by the generation in the last century. The progress of industrialization in 20th century has damaged our habitat disastrously. The evidence is that automobiles and air travel which became common in the last 100 years are two main contributors to the global warming. Because they used a large amount of fossil fuel and released of hazardous substances into the environment. Besides, the population explosion in the world over the last decades has created a fierce pressure on natural resources due to the full exploitation and mass consumption of the resources to meet the basic human needs such as accommodation, food, and transportation. For example, to meet the demand for housing, many rain forests were cut down to replace with magnificent construction works. On the other hand, today’s generation should proactively and positively eliminate harmful environmental factors to minimize disasters in the future. Although people cannot change what occurred in the past, we could probably make changes from now. For example, to ameliorate our habitat, people today could take some effective measures such as stopping deforestation and beginning to plant more trees, no littering and releasing the hazardous substances into the environment. Furthermore, the government should limit the increasing of population to reduce its burden on the environment and the natural resources in the future. Past generations who set the world on this path cannot came back to remedy their mistakes and the next generations will resent the current generation if steps protecting environment are not taken toward drastic reforms. In conclusion, although the current climate changes are not caused by the current generation, they must be responsibility for what will happen in the future. Leaving this problem for the children of the future will put them in a potentially unwinnable situation.