Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the authority should invest more budget to rail than roadways. Although railways bring some benefits for people, personally I think the government expenditure should be poured into roadways for many reasons, which will be outlined in this essay. On the one hand, the idea that the national leaders ought to inject money into railways for many reasons. The greatest advantage of railways transport is that it is the most dependable mode of transport as it is the least affected by the weather conditions such as rains, fog etc. compared to other modes of transport. For example, you are going to plan for a long trip, however if that day has the bad weather, you will have to cancel your trip if you book the other ways of transport except train. Besides, railway is the safest form of transport as the chances of accidents and breakdowns of railways are minimum as compared to other modes of transport. Based on the information gathered from all parts of the world, you can see that almost the accidents are caused by other ways of transport but it is really rare by the train. However, Nowadays, improving roadway is an essential and urgent problem. In many big cities, people are facing miserably the traffic congestion. Because the main road is too small to meet a large number of vehicles. For example, in rush hour in Ho Chi Minh city, hundreds of people rush out of their homes to go to work, school or private business which caused serious traffic jams. Hence to offload this problem the government need to expand the traffic ways. In addition, to increase the level of safety and reduce the accidents the authorities need to improve the road quality. For example, in Vietnam the number of road accidents is ever-increasing because there are a lots of holes on the road’s surface. So raising the quality of road is a top priority. In conclusion, although the railways help people travel fast, I strongly believe that the government’s budget should be invested in developing roadways.