Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that TV programmes and movies now play an important role in a country’s culture. Despite the unequivocal benefits of international films and TV programmes, I believe that locally-made products are an irreplaceable part of a country’s film industry.

On the one hand, there are those who argue that it is necessary to import movies and TV shows from overseas. The core of this argument is that people can acquire new knowledge about other countries. International films are a huge repository of information about foreign cultures, traditions and customs. Thus, watching foreign movies and TV programmes is an efficient way to discover other unique cultures, culinary arts and beautiful destinations. For instance, audiences can learn how American people celebrate Thanksgiving by watching sitcoms such as How I met your mother, even if they never set foot on foreign land. This explains why a country should broadcast internationally films and TV shows.

On the other hand, I side with those who concur that it would be better to produce domestic movies and TV programmes. The salient argument is that locally-made films and TV programmes play essential role on preserving a country’ culture. In contemporary society, due to the penetration of foreign products, more young people have superficial knowledge about their culture. Thus, local movies and TV programmes may remind citizens of their nation's traditional customs and values. For example, students can learn about their country’s history through a documentary movies made locally. In contrast, overexposure on exotic products are likely to make traditional values consigned to oblivion.

In conclusion, I effusively hold the view that international movies and TV programmes pale in comparison to domestic ones when it comes to contribute to a country' culture. Therefore, a country should produce more entertaining works by their own.