Humans are responsible to a variety of environmental problems, but we could take steps in efforts to reduce the damage that we are causing on the planet. This essay will discuss environmental problems and measures that governments and individuals can take to handle the problems.

Two of the biggest threat to the environment might be air pollution and waste. Firstly, gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes released from vehicles contribute to global warming, which leads to many natural disasters such as fierce storms and long-term droughts in the future. Secondly, because of the rapid growth in the global population, we are producing a greater amount of waste from daily activities. It contaminates the earth and pollutes rivers and oceans. This does not solely have a negative effect on people’s water sources and might cause many dangerous diseases, but also harm the ecosystem of marine animals.

Both governments and individuals certainly could address the environmental problems through laws and recycling garbage. The governments could issue policies in favour of the environment to factories and impose harsh punishments on businesses’ owners who break it. The government could encourage industrial parks to use renewable energy such as solar, wind and tidal energy. On top of that, individuals could play a part in environmental protection by using renewable materials. For example, supermarkets now provide reusable bags, plastic and paper for their customers to recycle and replace traditional plastic bags. This does not only reduce waste to the environment, but help people save money.

In conclusion, the environment is being affected by humans in various ways. However, it is possible for governments and individuals to find measures to protect and treat the environment better.