As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Businesses always try to make profits, but it is becoming increasingly common to hear people talk about the social obligations of companies. I completely agree with the idea that businesses should do more for society more than simply make money.

On the one hand, It is obliviously true that maximizing profits is an essential target of any company. Healthy finance ensures the companies could cover their running costs such as building rental fees, employees’ salaries and equipment payments. On top of that, a strong budget helps companies ready to invest in marketing strategies or product development when dealing with any sudden changes in consumer market trends. If they do not have enough money to meet new trends in customers’ demands, they might lose their market share to opponents and it is harmful to the sustainable survival of any company.

On the other hand, I side with those who concur that companies should realize that they have a wider role to play in society. Companies’ owners and managers should treat their workers well rather than solely exploiting them as much as possible. The businesses could have financial supports for their staff such as travelling aids or living costs. It, therefore, helps their workers have a better quality of life and in this way directly improve society’s quality. Caring about the well-being of employees might strengthen their dedication to the company, which is an important part of contributing to the success of any business.

In conclusion, there are many convincing reasons to understand why companies give an enormous effort to make profits. However, I believe that they should pay enough attention to social distribution.