Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Marriage is not only a relationship, but also a bond between two people. The most contentious issue these days is, changing the legal age for marriage; it should be 21 or not? This essay will bring forth the related aspects and my opinion will be concluded by the end.

On the one hand side, there are people who believe that the legal age for marriage should be 21. The main reason is burden of the relationship, as marriage comes with responsibilities and a person under the age of 21 has less experience to take the financial and emotional responsibility. Moreover, maturity is another reason, because every bond requires maturity to strengthen and survive a relationship. For instance, a recent survey in India reported that 35% of the divorce cases involved the couples who got married before the age of 21.

On the contrary, there are people who believe otherwise. One of the reason is that marriage should not be limited by the age, since marriage is based on love and people can fall in love at any age; therefore, age should not be the restriction. In addition, people have a opinion that every individual should have the ability to make their own decision, as it depends upon the individual that how and with whom they want to spend their life with; hence, it should completely depend on the person and age should not become a legal obligation.

In nutshell, we have seen there are both pros and cons to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that the benefits of legal age of 21, such as, gaining experience and maturity to strengthen the bond, outweighs the drawbacks, like the feeling of love, therefore, I completely agree with the topic that the legal age should be changed to 21 for the betterment of society.