Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Marriage is the most important part of life, it also comes with responsibilities. Nevertheless, this has always been a topic of debate that if people should get married after the age of 21. I will examine all the possible dimensions of this topic with examples and assertions and shape up my opinion by the end.

The first reason that states that why people should get married after 21 is: maturity. Because maturity comes with the age and experience of life, an individual who is under 21 cannot make important decisions with maturity which will affect their partner as well as their marriage. Moreover, financial stability is another important aspect in marriage, as after marriage two individuals will commence their new life which requires money. Therefore, if both the individuals get married before getting financially stable, it will result in monetary issues and eventually disrupts the marriage. For instance, a recent survey by “The Tribune” in India states that 35% of the divorce were the result of marriage before the age of 21.

On the contrary, there are people who believe that marriage should not be limited by the specific age. As a the foundation of a relationship is love and love cannot be controlled by age, therefore people should be allowed even to get married before 21. Furthermore, marrying before 21 will allow couples to spend time together and grow with each other, because they will learn about each other, which will help strengthen their bond. Hence, it makes the marriage stronger.

In conclusion, there has been number of answers to this question. However, the drawbacks of getting married before 21 outweighs the merits. Therefore, I firmly believe that the legal age to get married should be 21, since marriage is a relationship that comes with responsibilities and it requires balance that comes with maturity.