As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To
what extent do you agree or disagree?
Businesses have always sought to make a profit, but it is becoming increasingly
common to hear people talk about the social obligations that companies have. I
completely agree with the idea that businesses should do more for society than
simply make money.
On the one hand, I accept that businesses must make money in order to survive in a
competitive world. It seems logical that the priority of any company should be to
cover its running costs, such as employees’ wages and payments for buildings and
utilities. On top of these costs, companies also need to invest in improvements and
innovations if they wish to remain successful. If a company is unable to pay its bills
or meet the changing needs of customers, any concerns about social responsibilities
become irrelevant. In other words, a company can only make a positive contribution
to society if it is in good financial health.
On the other hand, companies should not be run with the sole aim of maximising
profit; they have a wider role to play in society. One social obligation that owners
and managers have is to treat their employees well, rather than exploiting them. For
example, they could pay a “living wage” to ensure that workers have a good quality
of life. I also like the idea that businesses could use a proportion of their profits to
support local charities, environmental projects or education initiatives. Finally,
instead of trying to minimise their tax payments by using accounting loopholes, I
believe that company bosses should be happy to contribute to society through the
tax system.
In conclusion, I believe that companies should place as much importance on their
social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.