as well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Determining priorities has been a controversial issue for enterprises. It is argued that taking social responsibilities should stay paralleled with earning money. Personally, I am in favor of the above statement and will support my view with specific reasons and examples in this essay.

To begin with, making money plays an indispensable role for businesses. Indeed, it is not only an enterprise’s basic function but also the way it contribute to the society. Particularly, the higher profit it makes, the more taxes the government would receive, and, as a result, better welfare would be provided, such as better infrastructure for public schools or hospitals. Furthermore, thriving in a rigorous market facilitates brands to expand their businesses, which are beneficial for the labor market, since a huge number of jobs would be created.

On the other hand, social responsibility also cannot be overlooked. It is because while a business is processing, the society is suffering from many externalities. For example, a factory producing tobacco emits an excessive load of harmful gases, and, in addition, its consumer also suffering from many dangerous health problems due to smoking. This is the reason why Philip Morris, a famous cigarette company established a fund for lung cancer research, since they realized that it is needed to shoulder the responsibility for this tragedy. Last but not least, enhancing public figure is another reason making social responsibility essential. Indeed, philanthropic projects, or private welfare programs are of great use to create strong impression for customers, who always appreciate ethical values when they choose a product.

To sum up, I believe that besides enriching their budget, enterprises should also run their businesses in a socially responsible manner.