As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea that, besides making money, companies also need to have social responsibilities remains a source of argument. In my opinion, I agree that enterprises should not do business just for profit, they must contribute to public.

On the one hand, the efforts of companies making profits as much as possible bring some benefits to the community. Firstly, enterprises need profit in order to not only pay their workers salary but also have money to reinvest in their production chain to maintain the businesses. As a result, they will create more job opportunities to the community. Secondly, the more money they could make, the more taxes they have to pay. Therefore, the government have more revenue to spend on public facilities such as schools and hospitals.

On the other hand, there are some reasons that businesses also have social responsibilities. The first reason is that their production and commercial activities impact on the environment. For example, without controls, production processes could lead to serious environmental issues such as global warming due to acid rain emissions from heavy industry or toxic waste is discharged directly into rivers. If factories install industrial waste treatment systems, pollution will be controlled. Another reason is that enterprises should help the less lucky people by putting back a part of their profit to the community through philanthropic activities such as providing scholarships or giving donations.

In conclusion, although, I agree that earning profits is one of the bases of enterprises, I would argue that all businesses should have social responsibilities.