As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the question of whether businesses should sought to make a profit or focus on the social obligations has aroused people’s discussion. I completely agree with the idea that businesses should do more for society than simply make money.

Advocates of financial objects may argue that companies can only make a positive contribution to society if they are in good financial health. First, the higher the profits enterprises earned, the more taxes they pay to the government. In fact, authorities may have more revenue to spend in key fields such as education, healthcare…, which leads to an improvement in the quality of life of the whole community. Second, by earning huge profits, companies will have opportunity to grow their business. For example, firms use their capital to expand their production, which creates new job opportunities within the community.

However, I am in favor the idea that companies should not be run with the sole aim of maximising profit but have a wider role to play in society. First, since their acitivities have an effect on the environment, they must take some measures to make the situation better. Plenty of evidence suggests that production processes, without controls, may result in serious environmental degradation such as global warming stemming from factory emmissions or the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste, which can be improved, for example, by installing waste treatment systems in lieu of discharging chemical wastes into rives. Second, enterprises should help those who are less fortune since they have the money to do so. For example, big corporations such as Unilever and Vinamilk have enhanced their public image through philanthropic actions like supporting local charities and education initiatives.

In conclusion, although making money is the fundamental principle of business, all businesses should profoundly reflect upon their social responsibilities.