In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The question of whether physical strength or mental power is more important in participating in sports has caused controversy. Although physical fitness is a prerequisite for any athlete, I believe that mental strength will be the deciding factor in professional sports.

Advocates of the physical strength make the point that physical abilities are all it takes for athletes to win any sport. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo is known as a legendary footballer because he has been constantly striving to improve his health and skills. Ronaldo has trained himself nearly four times more intensive than the average player, which has helped him become one of the world’s leading attackers in football because of his superior strength and sharp skills. It is apparent that you cannot participate in sports with a weak body and unhealthy muscles.

Notwithstanding the benefits recognized above, I still claim that mental strength is the power helping great athletes conquer outstanding victories, regardless of age and physical prowess. Roger Federer is a standout example for this case. He won Wimbledon, one of the Grand Slams for tennis around the world for a record eighth time at the age of 35. At this age, there were certainly many younger, healthier tennis players with better endurance and stamina than him, but Roger Federer still outperformed and triumphed over all other athletes to become the record-holding champion. He is a living proof that the will and spirit are what separate great players from good ones.

In conclusion, although physical strength is always required for everyone to do sports, I still place much more importance on the mentality aspect that is the crucial factor helping an athlete passionately participate in any sport match and surpass the rest. An athlete should combine both of these factors to create lifetime breakthroughs.