Children’s education is expensive. In some countries, the government pays some of or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In these days, the question of whether or not children’s education should be funded by the authorities aroused people’s discussion. Although this trend is not without the disadvantages, the upsides will be far more significant.

This trend certainly exerts some detrimental implications to both individuals and the governments. First, since a sustainable development of a nation requires to have many investments in many fields, paying all of the costs for children’s education can put a heavy burden on national budget. In fact, the governments need to properly subsidize for many key areas, such as healthcare, economy, education, which implies that every citizen should shoulder the responsibility of paying for their children’s schooling fees. Second, by supporting children’s education, either a part or all of the costs, national and local authorities could create unfairness to childless people. This means that they may feel angry or irritated if knowing that their tax income is not spent on their benefits.

There are, however, some dazzling advantages that can easily overshadow the disadvantages of this sponsorship. First, in order to guarantee the qualified workforce down the road, investing in children’s education is considered as a win-win solution. This means that meagre income families can let their children, especially aspiring ones, go to school, which will in turn bring national workforce an array of benefits in the sense that young generations will become qualified and talented employees. Second, if parents released the burden from their children’s tuition fees, there is a good chance that they would have a good take care of their offspring. For example, parents can have more budgets to buy more food or clothes for their youngsters, improving their standard of living as a result.

In conclusion, it is a wise decision when the governments are inclined to finance children’s education, even some or all of it, despite some disadvantages anticipated. By acknowledging the importance of children education, officials will lead their country to a higher level of development.