What are the advantages and disadvantages of cyberculture?

With the frequent use of the Internet nowadays many people are convinced that cyberculture is a good option. This essay will suggest that online communication and various sorts of useful information are the biggest advantages, but escaping reality and reducing motivation to read are the primary disadvantages.

The main advantages of cyberculture are chatting via social networks and watching various developing videos. For people who live far from each other it is quite convenient to interact online without any relocation costs. Also, having a contact using messages is a great way for introverts disliking face-to-face interactions. Moreover, thanks to cyberculture people can learn more about our world by watching different videos that broaden people's horizons. For instance, there are a lot of programmes like “A live planet” that enable people to acquire new knowledge about various creatures and plants.

Despite these advantages, sometimes people spend a lot of time on the Internet forgetting about their private lives, friends, parents, and they get used to being on the global net, preferring it to reading. The point is that the Internet could be more attractive than the real world as there are bundles of information there. And so quite often human beings prefer sitting behind a screen to doing something in reality. Furthermore, some people, rather than reading books for the development of critical and creative thinking, prefer playing computer games as they find them more interesting. For example, when I studied in the 11th grade, my classmates were sitting with their phones during the breaks and no one was reading.

In conclusion, cyberculture can be advantageous if it allows people to have a chat online and access to knowledge. However, they should also be careful that it does not detach them from reality and substitute reading books.