What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. However, in recent years, they have preferred living in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. As a consequence, the way people live has changed significantly.

From my viewpoint, living in a small village was beneficial. Firstly, villagers knew each other so they had a high level of trust, for that reason, most villages had a low crime rate. Secondly, when all individuals lived in a small village, they could work closely and help others. For example, if someone in the village is busy, they can ask their neighbors or friends to look after their child for a while. Living in small villages was simple, but everyone was always happy and carefree.

Besides, there were also some disadvantages when living in a small village. Living in a small village would make them cannot connect to other communities, and as a result, people in the village could lack of education and have limited experiences. When people could not connect to other communities, they would lose the chance to trade goods with others, and the worst thing was the village could not develop. One other thing was the problem of space to live, because of living in a small village, the space would be limited to live when there were too many people in one place.

In brief, living in a small had some advantages, even so, compared to nowadays, there were still disadvantages when living in a small village. Living in a small village was joyful but hard to grow when living in large cities was better.