What are the advantages and disadvantages of renewable fuels?

As non-renewable energy is in short supply in many regions of the globe, there is a high demand in numerous developing countries for alternative energy. It goes without saying that renewable sources of energy are their top choice. However, I strongly believe that besides certain upsides, renewable fuels' downsides still coexist.

The most important advantage is that renewable energy will not deplete. Some examples of these sources of energy are solar, wind, and water. Their technologies use resources straight from the environment to generate power, so there is no possibility of them running dry. Another point in favor of renewable fuels is their eco-friendliness. During the generation process, they emit little to no greenhouse gases or pollutants into the atmosphere. This means a smaller carbon footprint and an overall positive impact on the environment. Using renewable sources of energy can help decrease harmful pollutants and contribute to a healthier atmosphere.

Despite the benefits mentioned above, renewable fuels’ drawbacks should also be taken into consideration. The first drawback of alternative energy is its unreliability. Renewable energy totally depends on the weather such as the sun and wind to be able to harness energy. In case atmospheric conditions are not favorable, its technologies would lack the ability to generate any electricity. As an example, hydro generators require enough rain to fill dams for their supply of flowing water. Another negative aspect of renewable fuels is the expensive storage costs. In order to make use of renewable energy, electric factories must store the energy collected by installing a battery; otherwise, the energy will be lost. Nevertheless, some types of batteries also wear out very quickly, especially if used at full capacity on a regular basis.

In conclusion, the switch to renewable fuels is worth considering to tackle the vital issue of the depletion of fossil fuels. However, from my viewpoint, despite a variety of its valued advantages, renewable energy still possesses several disadvantages which have yet to be eradicated.