What are the causes of water shortages? Please also offer some solutions to this problem.

Give some reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Undoubtedly, water scarcity is becoming a worldwide problem, which puts human life in danger. In my opinion, there are several reasons for this issue, and various measures could be taken by governments and individuals to improve the situation.

There is a variety of reasons why lack of fresh water resource to meet water demand. Initially, the pressure of the growing population on water resources is also responsible for water shortages. Overpopulation brings about a considerably request for water in three sectors namely agriculture, industry and households. As the matter of fact, irrigated farming practices expanded in recent decades consume an immense amount of water and waste much of that through inefficiencies. Secondly, climate change such as altered weather-patterns including droughts and floods is another contributor to water scarcity. It has undesirable influences on people’s lives.

Fortunately, there are several actions that an individual or society could take to solve aforementioned problem. First, governments should spread awareness through media such as television and radio about the significance of water in our lives and encourage citizens to preserve this precious resource. Besides, farmers should take advantages of cutting-edge technology such as hybrid seeds to improve the output of crops and also use recycled water for irrigation. Moreover, rainwater should be stored and used for farming and domestic use to mitigate the water waste, fight climate change and safeguard our future.

In conclusion, water shortage is a global problem that is caused mainly by the growth of population and climate change, which requires governments and citizens to be cooperated to solve this issue.