What are differences and similarities between Learning English at high school and university ?

Learning English is always a topic of interest and public debate. In different kinds of education facilities such as high schools and universities, learning English is not nearly parallel. Indeed, these kinds of education facilities share some similarities which are purpose, teaching means and evaluation; nonetheless, they are different in some major points including method of teaching-learning and learning content.

In the first place, they have several similarities. Both these two education facilities have the same ultimate goal which is providing their students knowledge of Enlglish as well as they can to help learners acquire a certain English degree. Not only universities but also high schools bring learners English fundamental knowledge including grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation. In addition, universities, like high schools use some necessary teaching means including white chalks, blackboards, projectors, computers in teaching and learning English. Moreover, universities evaluate their students’ English learning results on attendance, a midterm test and a final test just as high schools do.

In spite of the similarities, universities and high schools are different in some aspects in learning English. The first difference is the method of teaching-learning. At high schools, students seem not to be self-studying but they need more guidance from teachers. Teachers always indicate their students’ mistakes about English clearly and correct them specifically. The reason might be that their students are not mature enough to study English themselves. Nevertheless, undergraduates are independent learners. The lecturers always require their students to study themselves. For example, they only indicate students’ mistakes then students have to study reference documents which the lecturers provide to understand the reasons for their mistakes and correct the mistakes on their own. This way of teaching-learning is very effective because thanks to that students can understand the knowledge deeply and remember it for a long time.

Another difference is their learning content. At high schools, the content of learning English mainly focuses on reading skills and writing skills. In fact, high school students rarely study speaking skills and listening skills in classes. One of the reasons for this is that the national high school exam does not assess these skills of students; therefore, to prepare well for this important exam, teachers usually concentrate on teaching reading and writing skills for their students. Conversely, at universities students have to learn all skills including reading skills, listening skills, writing skills and speaking skills. Furthermore, except communication English, university students study professional English which high school students do not learn.

In conclusion, besides the similarities such as education purpose, teaching means and evaluation, the two education facilities differ in some main points including the method of learning-teaching and the learning content. From my perspective, learners should understand clearly not only the similarities but also the distinction to adapt to the learning environment where they enroll to gain the best learning results.