What are the differences between fast food and traditional food?

Fast food has been a controversial subject of numerous heated debates as there is a growing concern over the current tendency to favour fast food over traditional meals. Below is an outline of some differences between fast food and traditional cuisines.

A problem found in fast food is its high risk of obesity and other related diseases. This is because this category of food contains an excessive amount of fat, sugar, and harmful additives in contrast to the healthy selection of ingredients such as vegetables in a traditional dish. As a result, a typical fast-food meal usually has a high energy density, much higher than a traditional meal, leading to a myriad of potential diseases such as diabetes, obesity, and even cancer if those fast-food items are consumed consistently for long periods.

Fast food is also distinguished from traditional food by its limited variations of dishes. While traditional cuisines are well-known for their emphasis on the complexity and richness of flavour, taste, and choice due to ethnic diversity, junk food rarely varies in most places. However, in this time-minded world, people show a preference for fast food because of its short preparation time, and this tendency would, undoubtedly, pose direct threats to local specialties.

Moreover, it is important to note that traditional meals have many of its social meanings. Although fast food is recognised for its convenience and saving people from home cooking, it discourages family members from preparing deliberate meals for others. People are thus less likely to converse together, which would take a toll on sentimental bonds in family. In this sense, a traditional meal is deemed as a unifying element in family life, bringing people together in times of troubles and times of joy.

In conclusion, fast food, although convenient, would increase one’s risk of gaining weight and other health problems as well as affect cuisine diversity and family solidarity. For the sake of mentioned aspects, traditional meals are the one which should be put more premium on.