Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a workplace everyday.

Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Homeworking is an issue that has recently sparked a myriad of controversial debates. There is a school of thought which contends that teleworking instead of daily travelling to the place of work would do both individuals and society better. I side with this opinion.

One of the main reasons why home working would be beneficial to workers is the boost for staff satisfaction. By working in the private area, employees can manage their own time and strike a balance between work and rest. Similarly important is that, without the presence of their immediate supervisors, they would feel less stressed and more comfortable. These two parameters both play a critical role in job satisfaction and productivity.

Another point to note is that several road accidents are partly attributed to daily commuting to working places. Needless to say, home working would serve as the optimal solution to this problem. This argument rests on the fact that working from home spares job holders from the need of engaging in traffic during peak hours, which would, in turn, minimise substantially the probability of vehicle accidents on the way to the office.

Some may argue that integrating homeworking in one’s business would result in the loss of team spirit and difficulty in staff training. This notion is fallacious. With the advent of the Internet, numerous applications and websites emerge, providing workers and their colleagues with the most effective communication tools to increase mutual interactions at ease. Furthermore, the familiarization of young generations with online learning is a facilitator for their grasp of pre-recorded training videos.

In conclusion, there are various benefits obtained from homeworking, e.g, enhancing employees’ satisfaction and reducing traffic accidents. The pessimism about the lack of team interactions and dilemma in apprenticeship is ungrounded.