Some people think that work is the most important aspect of people’s life. Without a successful career, life become meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought contends that life would become pointless without employment success. Although I accept the importance of a desirable career, I would argue that there are several other factors that also contribute to fulfillment and happiness in life including mental well-being and family bonds.

The first potential justification of the yearning for employment achievements is that an outstanding occupation would enhance the living standards of workers themselves. Therefore, a myriad of job holders are willing to extend their working hours to maximise their earnings and satisfy their bosses in the hope of future promotion. However, one fact that might be ignored is that this tendency is at the expense of their own mental health, rendering multiple stress-related illnesses such as anxiety, depression and even nervous breakdown if these problems persist. As a result, even when those working around the clock attained successful feats at work, they would still feel discontented because their psychological well-being suffers.

Another argument that can be given for the desire for career success is that high achievers would be able to prove self-worth and gain recognition from their social circles. This notion might be true but some advocates of this belief appear to underate the values of family in providing a great source of emotional support, which is vital in times of adversity. Getting immersed in the working pace and social interactions, those people fail to fulfill parents and marriage partners’ responsibilities, consequently causing constant family conflicts. Ultimately, at the height of materialistic wealth and career ladder with respected reputation, one would likely experience a feeling of loneliness and dissatisfaction due to family loss and a sense of regret.

In conclusion, while undoubtedly, enormous benefits can be gained from a glittering career, it is my opinion that without other parameters such as mental health and family connection, one’s life cannot be fulfilled.