What are the pros and cons for children watching television?

Nowadays, the trend of watching tv is becoming increasingly popular, especially for children. They spend a good amount of time in front of tv watching their favourite shows. Many people consider watching tv as a beneficial activity for children. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages of it. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and will give my opinion.

Let's begin by looking at the advantages of watching for youngsters. One of the main positives is that it provides a wide range of knowledge on various topics. What I mean by this is that children can get information just by watching tv. For instance, when children watch in tv that wooden furniture catches fire easily, they will deduce that wood is vulnerable to fire. This can make children more informative.

Secondly, tv shows encourage children to follow good habits. For example, children tend to follow their hero's activity. When their heros follow good etiquettes, it is highly possible that they will also follow him.

Turning to the other side of the argument, addiction to tv may affect the health of the children. Many people believe that children spend more than 3 to 4 hours per day in front of tv screens which deteriorates their eyesight and may leads to obesity as well.

Another issue is that young adults may be influenced by actions which are harmful for themselves. For instance, youngsters may start smoking cigarettes or consuming alcohol without knowing the consequences following their favourite character's actions. It can be especially challenging if not monitored at an early stage.

All things considered, television has both benefits and drawbacks for children. Although it can help youngsters to gain knowledge and to follow good habits, it may also lead to health issues and bad habits. In my opinion, the pros of watching tv outweigh the disadvantages because I believe that children are able to choose proper content and use their time wisely.