What is blockchain?
Blockchain is a kind of algorithm that allows the management of electronic cash
without the intervention of a centralised administration. The algorithm uses distribution
technique which is similar to peer to peer technique that we knew.
The distributed database created by blockchain technology has a fundamentally
different digital backbone. This is also the most distinct and important feature of
blockchain technology. In the case of a blockchain, every node in the network is coming
to the same conclusion, each updating the record independently, with the most popular
record becoming the de-facto official record in lieu of there being a master copy.
Transactions are broadcast, and every node is creating their own updated
version of events. It is this difference that makes blockchain technology so useful – It
represents an innovation in information registration and distribution that eliminates the
need for a trusted party to facilitate digital relationships.
Yet, blockchain technology, for all its merits, is not a new technology.
Rather, it is a combination of proven technologies applied in a new way. It was the
particular orchestration of three technologies (the Internet, private key cryptography and
a protocol governing incentivization) that made bitcoin creator Satoshi Nakamoto's idea
so useful.
The result is a system for digital interactions that does not need a trusted third
party. The work of securing digital relationships is implicit — supplied by the elegant,
simple, yet robust network architecture of blockchain technology itself.