When a country develop its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the past fifty years, the development of technology has significantly changed our lifestyle. Some of people believed that the traditional skills and old ways of life should be definitely replaced by modern and professional skills, yet there still remains argument against this issue. Overall, it is my personal view that no matter how prosperous technology is, the loss of traditional skills and ways of life will adversely affect our life.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that human beings are not born like robots. Human society grows from a long history of civilization. Without traditional ways of life, our life would become much more momentous rather than a colorful and beautiful life. Thanks to diversity of culture and customs, it motivates people to travel around the world to discover and experience different ways of life. Moreover, once traditional ways of life die out, human beings’ morale will suffer. Take the case of respecting seniority in a family as a salient example. The children will not how to show respect to their grandparents, which consequently leave the old isolated and frustrated.

Even more importantly, though culture in general and traditional skills in particular facilitates the development of technology. The majority of inventions entails a great deal of time and efforts. It went through many times of trials and errors to be eventually successful. Thus, it is definitely disadvantageous if we are unable to inherit experience from previous generations. Were it not for traditional skills which laid the solid foundation, we would have to start from scratch. Therefore, the disappearance of traditional skills, particularly good skills may halt the progress of technology growth and make the technology cease to develop, otherwise the development of technology will take even longer period of time.

By ways of conclusion, I once again affirm my position that culture and traditional skills are vitally pivotal due to their positive impact on the prosperity of technology and human beings. In years to come, I strongly believe that education campaigns in terms of preservation and concern about culture and lifestyle should be adopted by majority of population to make the development of technology much more achievable.