When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

it is a common belief that the intended functions of a building, instead of its external appearance, plays the most significant role in designing progress. From my perspective, regardless of many benefits gained by how a building looks, I completely agree with this view for several reasons.

Admittedly, a spectacular building can take advantage of its stunning appearance. In fact, the way a construction looks can have remarkable impact on customers, especially from the first sight. As a result, such people give priority to this one rather than a building having the same function but less attractive. Landmark 81, a skyscraper in Southern Vietnam, for example, has a magnificent and unique appearance which significantly impresses their consumers as a token of Vietnamese traditional bamboo and thus attracts more customers and gains more profits than other shopping malls.

No matter how advantageous an attractive construction’s outlook can be, the functions of the building make the most valuable contribution to its success. To specify, if this kind of structure can provide well-qualified services, it will satisfy customers’ demands and strengthen their belief in the use of the building. On the other hand, a construction covered with eye-catching design but having no practical uses can only attract people in the short term. this makes a bad impression on its consumers after they realize the building can not meet their requirements.

In conclusion, while it is beneficial to attract consumers by a building’s external appearance, I support the idea that its function is the key factor influencing the bond between people and the construction.