Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that the meaning behind tradition-based and religion-associated festive events are no longer celebrated, and people, nowadays, spend time for their own enjoyment instead. From my perspective, I am firmly convinced that while the statement is partly applicable to young people, the true values of those festivals are still well respected by the older generations.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that youngsters are taking less interests in traditional and religious purposes, hence they often find other modern activities more captivated than participating in old-fashioned celebrations. Consequently, the true meanings of those occasions would fall into oblivion for this group of people. For example, these days, Vietnamese young generations would rather enjoy a trip or hang out with friends during the Mid-Autumn festival, which is mostly meant for children and family gatherings. Additionally, according to a recent programme, most interviewees, who was asked about the meaning of this festival, were completely uncertain.

On the other hand, the older generations have certainly been preserving those occasions by following the traditional way of celebrations. Moreover, the traditional and religious values are unlikely to be forgotten since they are often passed down to the younger generations by the elderly from a young age. In fact, it is more common than not to find a Vietnamese family, no matter how young the members are, decorating the house, enjoying traditional food and visiting relatives and friends during the Tet holiday, which have been the customs for Vietnamese people for centuries.

In conclusion, to a certain extent, it is true that young people tend to spend the festive time for their personal enjoyment instead of traditional meanings due to their lack of attentiveness. Nevertheless, the values of those festivals have always been preserved and passed down by the older generations.