Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are opposing views regarding whether the government should not invest its funding in cultural activities or supporting these activities can provide the population and the culture with many benefits. In my opinion, while the former is true for underdeveloped areas, the latter is more appropriate for developed ones.

In areas suffering from poverty and starvation, it is significantly beneficial for the economy if the government focuses on increasing its investment in new methods of production instead of art and culture. With such innovations, financial pressure put on local businesses and low-income farmers will be reduced, which facilitates the economic development. A case in point is that after applying advanced land reclamtion measures, northern mountainous provinces of Viet Nam, which usually suffer from soil erosion, has increased agricultural productivity and achieved a significant reduction in the poverty rate.

As for wealthy areas, the population and the culture can gain many benefits if government funding is used to support cultural activities. For the residents, these are tools to promote social cohesion – the bond between people. In the other words, not only do art and culture provide entertainment but they also strengthen the community relations. On the other hand, such activities preserve a country’s featured culture. This can be explified by Quan Ho folk songs, which were born in the 11th century and has been conserved and promoted by their taking place in Bac Ninh every year.

In conclusion, while focusing on investing in economic aspects instead of cultural activities in poor areas can improve the economy effectively, the use of government funding in art and culture in wealthy ones will help conserve the unique culture and strengthen the community bond.