Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are opposing views regarding whether public money should be spent on art and culture or whether official support should be allocated to cultural events. In my opinion, while the former is good for developed countries, the latter is more beneficial for underdeveloped ones.

In developed nations, it can be significantly advantageous if the government spending is channelled into supporting art and culture as it benefits the authorities and individuals as a whole. To specify, all forms of art are designed to reflect human’s daily life and encourage people of all classes to have a positive outlook on life. For this reason, it helps employees to uplift themselves after an exhausting day at work and promote work efficiency. As a result, this is beneficial to the national government, as the work force is empowered, and the workers, as their stress is relieved.

As for places in which there is a huge gap between the wealthy and the poor, there will be far greater advantages if state support should be used to tackle such burning issues as hospital overload or traffic problems. By way of illustration, while thousands of Vietnamese patients have clamoured for an improvement in hospital infrastructure because of an overwhelming of sick people, Vietnam poured millions of dollars into holding traditional festivals across the country to foster its cultural values. Therefore, an investment by the government in such events could lead to public frustration.

In conclusion, while funding art and culture can be advantageous to the authorities in developed nations, providing finance for cultural projects can have some drawbacks in underdeveloped ones.