Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that the significance behind traditional or religious festivals has been forgotten by most people who think these festivals are nothing but opportunities for their enjoyment. From my perspective, while I believe this idea is mainly true for teenagers, the opposite can be the case for the middle-aged and the elderly.

Admittedly, young people only treat themselves with pleasure during these festivals, ignoring the original meaning of them. In fact, the majority of youngsters do not take interest in traditions and religions; therefore, they take these festivals as normal holiday periods. As usual, they participate in modern activities in the outside world which arouses their curiosity more intensely than traditions do. By this way, the truly meaning behind festivals have fallen into oblivion. Mid-Autumn Festival, a Vietnamese traditional festival, for example, is an occasion for family gatherings. Forgetting this meaningful goal, many teenagers tend to go out with their friends or lovers for shopping, entertaining...instead of spending time for their families.

Middle-aged and elderly people, however, not only celebrate but also cherish the cultural and spiritual values of these festivals. They believe traditions reflect their ancestors' inestimable heritage and thus, these festivals should be hold in considerable respect. Many old people even teach their descendants how to preserve deep-rooted traditions. This can be exemplified by Vietnamese Tet holidays, celebrating the arrival of spring based on the Lunar calendar. One of the meanings of Tet holidays is to express Vietnamese’s gratitude towards their ancestors. In these days, parents teach their children how to prepares such foods as sticky square cakes, braised pork, Vietnamese sausage,...in a traditional way and put them on their ancestors' altars.

In conclusion, I support that young people only enjoy themselves during traditional or religious festivals. Nevertheless, people in middle and old age will preserve the underlying meaning behind such festivals.