Some believe that lot of scientific research is a waste of time and money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the belief that we are wasting time and money on science investigation. From my perspective, while I think these people have their own reasons, I believe scientific researches, which significantly benefit humankind, can not be canceled.

Admittedly, it is reasonable for people to bash the conducting of these researches. In fact, most of scientific researches require professional teams of scientists along well with a range of up-to-date facilities; therefore, to meet such requirements, the government have to invest a greal deal of money. On the other hand, scientific researches, especially medical-related ones, have to undergo many tests to prove that the results they achieved are true. This can make researches on science prolong up to decades. However, all these time and financial investments do not ensure that the achieved results can be successfully applied in the future. For this reason, many people think that time and money should be spent on more practical projects, such as improving the quality of the environment – one of important problems in people's daily lives.

Science researches, however, are necessary for the advancement of humankind. The results stemmed from such researches will justify the time and financial investments made. For example, in order to create a genre of genetically modified crops, the government has to fund a lot of time and money. However, if this plant can grow and develop well, the agricultural productivity will be significantly enhanced, outweighing the time and money spent. Furthermore, scientific researches also play a key role in solving intractable problems. The world, for the last few decades, has observed the emergence of many fatal diseases. Thanks to the arrival of scientific studies, the majority of these diseases have been eradicated. These are the reasons why scientific researches must be carried out.

In conclusion, I can understand why some people are claiming that running scientific researches is a waste of time and money. Nevertheless, I believe the importance of the findings achieved by these researches far outweigh the efforts spent and make substantial contributions to the solutions for intractable problems of the world.