Some people say modern children's games do not develop a wide range of skills, while traditional games can be much better for developing such skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the belief that classical games, instead of modern ones, can improve children's wide range of abilities. From my perspective, while I think some soft skills can be developed by playing traditional games, I disagree with this view for several reasons.

It is undeniable that classical games can promote social skill development. In fact, most of them are team bonding games, which requires players to team up. By joining a group, children will learn how to communicate and cooperate with others. This is believed to enhance their development in social skills along well with their opportunities in future careers. Dragon snake, a genre of Vietnamese traditional game, for instance, requires children to form a long line called “dragon-snake”. The head of this line have to converse and negotiate with other members to prevent the last child from being touched by their opponent. In some ways, the head will be encouraged to develop leadership skills, which is extraordinary useful in the competitive job market.

Contemporary games, however, play a very important role in the information age, requiring not only social skills but also technological ones. The majority of modern games are only available in the Internet or high-tech devices; therefore, children need to figure out how to use them to join games. The more children play modern games, the more proficient at such gadgets they are. This proficiency enables young players to achieve efficiency in many activities related to technology. Furthermore, contemporary games allow children to approach a novel environment known as a virtual world where they can be any characters and see extraordinary things. Their imagination will be nurtured and they tend to reconstitute what they saw, creating a bright future for the world.

In conclusion, while I support the idea that traditional games can strengthen children’s abilities to communicate and collaborate, contemporary ones can nurture their imagination and help them master technological skills in the age of technology.