Some people think scientific research is a waste of time and money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed by many people that the expenditure of effort on scientific studies is worthless regarding the amount of time and money spent on them. Although I believe there are certain reasons on which this opinion holders are counting, the benefits that humankind could cultivate from the results of those researches are too significant to ignore, because of which I am strongly against the statement.

It is undeniable that the outcomes of scientific researches contribute hugely to the advancement of the world, especially in terms of dealing with the once unsolvable issues, such as those relating to human health. Particularly, with the development of science, humans, nowadays, are not only any longer suffering from various fatal diseases which used to be mysteries, for instance diarrhoea, but also able to travel thousand miles within a course of a few hours, enhancing productivities of the work and removing the invisible wall separating people. Thus, scientific studies must be carried out for the good of humanity.

Furthermore, scientific achievements enable humans to correct the mistakes that cause disasters all over the world by providing causal grounds and solutions to keep humankind from being erased off the earth. It is a well-known fact that natural catastrophes are the consequences of people’s careless activities that have been tremendously damaging the environment. Hence, acknowledging the causes and adopting proven methods are essential, and it could only be achievable with the help of scientific knowledge. For example, it is obvious that scientifically advanced countries suffer less from the water crisis since the government understands the reasons for the shortages and implements needed solutions with the support of sufficient science-based knowledge.

In conclusion, although I appreciate the concerns, I firmly disagree that it would be a waste of time and money to carry out scientific researches owing to the long-lasting positive impacts on the world’s development and solving current critical problems.