When designing a building the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree and disagree

Many people consider that the function of the building should be the primary factor in the design stage and the outward appearance is a relatively unimportant factor. In my opinion, I disagree that the purpose of the building is the only important factor in the design.

On the one hand, the purpose of the building is, of course, pretty important. Take a sample, in terms of commercial and business sectors, stores usually are designed with great glass- windows in shop facades to fit for products on display. Besides, in a modern city where the population destiny and price of land are both very high, ugly high-rise building was erected because it is the only solution to provide apartments for urban dwellers.

On the other hand, the intended use of buildings is not the only factor in design. Architecture designers also focus on building's aesthetic qualities. In fact, old houses and traditional architecture in Hanoi, Vietnam is not fit for business or commercial purpose, but they are well- preserved to protect our history and culture.

In conclusion, both designers need to consider both purpose and appearance perspectives in design.