Over the past few years, media has been increasingly influencing people’s routine around the world. Some individuals believe that media moguls also control the behaviours and attitudes of their audience. Unfortunately, a remedy to this situation is tough to come by. Although I partly agree that the media controller controls people’s opinions, I still believe that there is a plausible solution to this.

First, news and media play a pivotal role in our notions about the coming issues. As the conventional way of news reporting is less popular, the online alternative serves the purpose more robustly. Through similar content, media consumers absorb purposeful information differently from each source. For example, BBC News and the New York Times will publicly spread different views of the situation. In short, the media controller maintain the ultimate influence on the audience’s attitude and value.

However, people have access to various sources of news due to advancement in technology. Even though sophisticated algorithms were invented to track users, they can still seek for other media platforms. Especially with a high-technology smartphone, people receive more approach to their interests and worldwide trends. When they realised that one provides unreliable information, they can easily switch to the alternative resource they think is trustworthy. In fact, this can be rectified by deciding whether we can rely on the origin of the information. So, I think it is not difficult to come by the situation.

To sum it all up, it is undeniable that media brokers use their media to manipulate and influence their target audiences. However, this situation can be improved, if the news consumers contemplate the reliability of what they consume. No matter what the owner invents to shape our mindsets, we can overcome that with the practice of thoughtfulness when absorbing information.